Small People….

July 1, 2012

Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you too, can become great   – Mark Twain

While I never really appreciated many of Mark Twain’s books I do enjoy his quotes. They often give me inspiration. The one here is as true as they come. Often times when someone mentions some of their ambitions others tell them that you are not capable of such lofty things!  They say that you will only get hurt if you dream too big. Other might say you are getting carried away or are going over the edge or have our head in the clouds. As Mark says don’t listen to them, they are just small people with small dreams.

This is one of those places where I think some forms of Christianity do more harm than good. They insist that all of us are nothing but miserable pieces of snot and are not able to do anything good. But, they say God loves us anyway! I can only imagine the effect that has on a small child just beginning to dream! I must admit that I grew up in a very blasé atmosphere when it came to religion. In my early years my parents would drop us kids off at the local Catholic church and then go back home.  So we were never fed this line.  But I know my ambitions were not very strong in my early years and if I had been told that I was worthless I just might have become just that.

I wonder how many kids have been damaged by small people or detrimental religious beliefs? All of us should constantly encourage each other, especially our youths, to dream big and work hard to accomplish your ambitions. We should tell them that God expects great things from them and will help them accomplish them if they just try.  Obviously not all our ambitions, and especially our more ambitious ones, will become reality but they would never be accomplished if they are not even dreamed.

Dream big and ignore the small people…

2 responses to Small People….

  1. 

    You are one smart man RJ…I loved the way you think.

    b

    Like

  2. 

    Thanks Barb.

    Like