Post Truth Politics……

July 2, 2012

Naming today’s age beginning with the word “Post” seems to be a dominant thing lately. Since I am doing a study of the history of the Christian church over at http://www.RedLetterLiving.net I am very familiar with the term Post-Christian. Here is what Wikipedia says about that:

a post-Christian world is one where Christianity is no longer the dominant civil religion, but one that has, gradually over extended periods of time, assumed values, culture, and worldviews that are not necessarily Christian (and further may not necessarily reflect any world religion’s standpoint, or may represent a combination of either several religions or none).

In my studies I can see where some might define this period as Post-Christian since Christianity has morphed over the centuries such that it pretty much doesn’t resemble the teaching of its founder Jesus Christ anymore but taken on a very worldly view.

I recently came across another “post” that seems to also be true and also somewhat disturbing. It claims we are now living in the era of Post-Truth Politics. That is where the facts about the opposing party are simply lost in the rhetoric. One of many examples of this is the fact that the Obama administration in three years has deported more illegal aliens than the Bush administration did in eight years. This truth is almost always ignored by the Republican pundits order to accuse President Obama of being soft on immigration.

So are we living in a Post-Christian and Post-Truth-Politics world and if we are what will be the result of that? Will we lose morality because of it? I will leave the Christian question to my other blog but will address the Post-Truth one  briefly here.

Since more and more of us get our information about the world today from basically one or at most two sources if those sources are ignoring the truth then we will hear nothing but non-factual info.  It is known that one of the primary places where my conservative friends get their info is from Fox News.  It was recently reported in the Huffington Post that several polls show that Fox News viewers are the least informed of any other group as the facts are often omitted in that organization’s reporting. Here are a couple of polls that indicate that it truthful  from that article:

Fox News viewers are less informed than people who don’t watch any news, according to a new poll from Fairleigh Dickinson University….

This isn’t the first study that has found that Fox News viewers more misinformed in comparison to others. Last year, a study from the University of Maryland found that Fox News viewers were more likely to believe false information about politics.

Many of our news agencies, but especially it seems Fox News, ignores the facts when they present their version of the news. To say that if you watch Fox news you are less informed than someone who doesn’t watch any news is quite a statement! Fox get their highest rating from programs that do more ranting and raving about the issues then just giving the facts and letting their viewers make up their own minds. I remember when this definitely was not the case. In the old days (I know I am sounding like the old guy I am here) it was hard to determine what the political bent was of the person giving you the day’s news. Is it even possible to get back to those days again? Probably not.

But what do I know….

2 responses to Post Truth Politics……

  1. 

    I agree on Fox. It is NOT a news station- but British type tabloid. After all it is owned by a Brit who is being sued in his own country for his exploitation of the people.
    Do you think there ever was a time of news with no bend? And isn’t this the generation of situational ethics (I was taught that at university 35 years ago).
    You definitely keep me thinking.

    Like

  2. 

    Hi Janette, I keep myself thinking too. You would be surprised of all this type of stuff that pops into my head 🙂
    When I was a regular news watcher I followed McNeil/Leher on PBS. They were as close as you could get to unbiased in my opinion.
    Situational ethics, yeah as I remember it was all about love. That is kind of far eschew from where we ended up isn’t it…..

    Like