It Takes A Long Time…

April 17, 2013
Banner -Off The Top
“It takes a long time to find out how wrong you are sometimes.” – Will Rogers, 8 August 1933

wrongI’m not sure why what Will declares here is true but I think it has something to do with our stubbornness. Once we get locked into a particular idea it is just so hard to admit that we might have been wrong to start with.  I know  it took the radical stands of Ronald Reagan for me to finally admit that I belonged to the wrong political party if I belonged to any party at all. 😉

I know everyone who is a member of the human species takes a long time to find out how wrong we are but I kind of think this is more dominant with us in the U.S. than it is with most others.  We strut around the world telling everyone else what is wrong with their way of thinking and then sending in our military if they don’t agree. As the Bible says we need to take the plank out of our own eyes first.

Sometimes we totally ignore how wrong we might be and never get around to admitting it. I kind of knew even in the beginning that I was probably in the wrong profession when I started out my engineering career so many years ago.  I ignored what I knew was probably wrong for thirty years. It is not that I didn’t have some fun and made some contributions in the profession I ended up in. It is just that I now know I have gifts that were unfulfilled.  Now I am trying to make up for those years when I should have been doing something else.  But that is life I guess, better late than never…..

4 responses to It Takes A Long Time…

  1. 

    And you know what? Once you admit you were wrong about something…especially something big…and go about changing your ways, it gets easier to do it the next time. Because there WILL be a next time. The pressure of being so “right” goes away and you might even be respected for your courage. You almost have to feel sorry for politicians who might legitimately change their mind on an issue like abortion or same sex marriage because they will be soundly criticized and called flip-floppers, etc… ( Mind you, many really are.)
    Someday there will probably be a lot of people forced to admit that they were wrong about global warming. But for now they stubbornly cling to their “facts” and make progress in adapting that much slower.
    I’m also pretty sure women are way better at this than men. Why is that?

    Like

    • 

      Oh Jane, you are so wise I can’t think of a thing to add except that you are probably right about women being better at it than men. Stubbornly clinging to something you realize is wrong is downright stupid….

      Like

  2. 

    I worked my whole career in a job I neither wanted nor enjoyed, and had many excuses why I couldn’t leave. Yes we can be stubborn (people) but that is also what gives us our perseverence and resiliency.

    Like

    • 

      Welcome Dwayne, yes it does give us perseverance and resiliency. It is sad that many of us only seem to learn after the fact they we belonged somewhere else… But its never to late to at least try something else…

      Like