For Just A Spell….

June 2, 2013

Laugh“We are just here for a spell and pass on. . . so get a few laughs, do the best you can. . . Live your life so that whenever you lose, you are ahead – Will Rogers, 5 July 1931

Since I have been trying to chill out more lately I have been going back to a source of mental stability in my life and that is the words of Will Rogers.  The words above should be the bible for all of us who want to know what is really important to do with your life.

I am an altruist and being one much of my life is now centered about others who have much bigger challenges than I do.  I think that is a pretty noble thing to focus on in life and I am trying hard to do just that.  But that doesn’t mean that you have to throw your personal happiness out the window to accomplish it. In reality you got to take care of yourself too or you are no good to anyone.

As Will says, in the general scheme of things we are all only here on this earth for a short spell and then we pass on as all of our ancestors have. While we are here we need to get a few laughs in life. Many of those laughs should be focused back on ourselves. It is healthy to often laugh at ourselves. It keeps us from being so self-centered and that is also a very important lesson to learn.

Doing the best you can is all anyone could ask of you. In order to do our best we must do the work to make that happen. I know it might be easier to just veg out in front of the TV or computer screen but if we really want to do our best we must work at it.  That means learning about history so we don’t make the same mistakes our parents and grand parents did. That means we got to do the work necessary to be a productive member of society.  Getting a proper education is critical to that. If only all of us did the best we can, can you even imagine how much greater this world would be?

I take Will’s last words here to mean live a life of simplicity. You might have a different take on them but that is what they say to me right now.  He tells me not to get hung up on the material things in life. They just aren’t that important. As a matter of fact losing many of our most valued treasures might actually be a good thing in the overall scheme of a fulfilling life. Keep your life simple and you will be happy. Don’t worry about the stuff you don’t have or the stuff your neighbor has, or the stuff you might lose. That as Will says is just applesauce.

Thanks Will for helping me to keep my life on an even keel and to know what is really important.

