I Must Be Getting Old…..

July 25, 2013

EmmyEmmy Awards 2013: Nominations Announced

Source:  Emmy Awards 2013: Nominations Announced – ABC News.

I won’t bore you folks who swear you never watch television with the long list of Emmy nominations here. If you want to see them click on the source above. The point of this post is that excluding “Dowton Abbey” there were no other shows on this long list that my wife and I watch. Are we out of tune with all those other TV watchers?  Most of the shows on the list I put in the “stupid” category. They are for the most part just a series of quick one line quips to get us to laugh, cry, or whatever emotion the author intends.

When I watch TV I do like to be entertained. Those two hours or so a day that I spend in front of the boob tube are when I want to quit thinking about all the troubles in life and just be entertained. But, since I have a brain I don’t want to insult it with what my eyes see. Fortunately having TIVO allows me to pick and choose from the thousands of hours out there to record for future viewing. Dowton Abbey, as I said at the beginning of this post, is part of that list. The Wonders of Life is another one. Many of the shows on the list are from the BBC. I wonder if that says something about me or the Brits who produce them?

Yeah, this post so far seems to say that I am taking the “high brow” approach to TV. But at least I admit that I watch on a regular basis. Some of my friends won’t even admit that. 🙂  But, my wife who has made it her life’s occupation to show me where I am wrong, points out that I watch the Three Stooges on occasion and “isn’t that the same thing as all those shows you disdain?” There is probably some truth to her words but I kind of see a difference.

Getting back to the Emmy list, I know that most of the shows in TV are intended for the 18-29 year-old people as somehow the advertisers think they spend the most money. I have two issues with that belief. First when I was that age I didn’t have nearly the amount of money to spend later in life. I was pretty much living hand to mouth in those days. Second, is the drivel in this list really appealing to even that age group? If so I kind of have some concerns about these kids taking over the country in the not too distant future….

2 responses to I Must Be Getting Old…..

  1. 

    Im definitely old but watch all of the Dramas (or want to) . I dont watch sitcoms for the most part. That said, Mad Men, Breaking Bad and Homeland are all superior dramas. Do they occasionally show violence? You bet. I don’t watch game of thrones, but only because I would like to try to read the books first.

    Like

    • 

      Thanks for the comment Barb and thanks for admitting you watch TV. Maybe I will give some of them on your list a try. I admit that I haven’t seen any of them. 😉 When I talked about “stupid” I guess I was primarily talking about the comedies. I am desperate to find some to watch. We all need a laugh in life but what is available now is, excuse the pun, laughable. About the only one I watch now is “The Middle” with Patricia Heaton. It is silly but at least it has some stories attached.

      Like