Knowing So Little….

September 13, 2013
Speeches“I don’t suppose there ever was a time when everybody knew as little about what they were talking about as they do today.” – Will Rogers, 19 September 1933

A quote I often cite is “You don’t have to know what you are saying as long as you say it with authority”. That seems to mimic what Will is saying above but I think these times today that has far exceeded what it was in his days.  One example of that might be President Obama. His rhetoric captivated many during the 2008 campaign season (including me ) but lack of experience just did not allow him to begin to actually accomplish what he said.  Of course a totally anti-everything Republican congress didn’t help either.

Another group of people who never seem to know really what they are saying are all the financial advisers out there. The fact that if the average person just put their money into a simple low cost stock index fund they would beat the vast majority of those guys.  Now I am not including those advisers who work for the 1% in this list. Their job is to do everything to insure that the super-rich keep from paying their fair share of taxes or actually any taxes at all. They seem to be doing a pretty good job of that . But then again that is probably due to the yahoos in congress who allow all those loopholes to exist in our tax codes that they constantly swim through.

I guess you could say that I am also included in the group who know little about what they are talking about as I am not an “expert” on any of the matters I discuss on this blog. I am just a simple guy with at least some degree of a way with words. But I do seem to have an opinion on most anything.  I don’t often really know what I am saying but I try to say it with authority. 🙂 🙂

Happy Friday the 13th (if any of you actually celebrate that type of thing)…..

2 responses to Knowing So Little….

  1. 

    Shhhh…now you’ve gone and done it…told the world you’re just an ordinary guy like the rest of us. Oh well. You’re still our “expert” opinionizer, R.J.! Don’t ever stop venting and voicing your side of things…we love it. Have a good Friday the 13th!

    Like