Swagger….

October 15, 2013

Swagger   (verb )

1.  to walk with a lofty proud gait, often in an attempt to impress others ⤻syn: tittup, ruffle, prance, strut, sashay, cock
2.  discourage or frighten with threats or a domineering manner; intimidate ⤻syn: browbeat, bully
3.  act in an arrogant, overly self-assured, or conceited manner ⤻syn: bluster, swash

John WayneI must admit that the word swagger has never been one of my favorite words. It just has too many negative connotations for me. For those of us old enough to remember the first person that comes to mind when they hear this word is John Wayne. I’m sure he was a nice enough guy as Marian Morrison but after so many years in Hollywood he became just too full of himself. He was just not the type of person I would begin to categorize as a hero in my life. He was married three times and had several high profile affairs with other women during those years.

He was an early member of the ultra-conservative, anti-communist John Birch Society and an avowed white supremacist. But when I look past all of that he did make some pretty good western flicks in his day.

