Being A Heretic….

October 20, 2013

Quaker Heretic“I have always rather enjoyed being considered a heretic, and have never wanted to be endorsed by any one. I have felt that to be endorsed was to be bound, and that it was better, for me at least, to be a free lance, with no hindrances to my absolute mental and spiritual freedom.” 

SOURCE:  Meet Hannah Whitall Smith, a “Convergent Friend” at the turn of the nineteenth century – QuakerQuaker.

I must admit that since I was tossed out of my previous church because I didn’t accept that the earth is only six-thousand years old I have kind of relished being called a heretic. It meant that I was looking at Christ’s words with my own intellect, not checking it at the door and then letting someone else to tell me what to think.  From the quote above it seems that I am by no means the first to feel that way.

If I were forced to attach myself to any Christian denomination it would most likely be Quakers.  Their approach to God just seems to mesh with mine in more ways than most but they also have some pretty serious quirks. I do kind of take pride in being called a heretic. I am in good company in that regard. Joan of Arc and several other “heroes” of the Christian church were originally tortured and killed as heretics. Now don’t get me wrong, I never want to be considered a hero in any regard. I just want to be known as a person who cared for his fellow human being; especially those who are disregarded by so many others. I want to be known as a guy who listened to Jesus’ words and actually tried to do what he said, sometimes successfully but often not.

As my Quaker friends say there is a light of God in all of us. Some see it early and dedicate their lives to being good stewards of the gifts God has given them.  Some see it very late in life and try to make up for all those lost years. Unfortunately there are also others who for one reason or another disregard that light and spend their entire lives focused almost totally on themselves.  I will leave it up to God to eventually tell them what he thinks of their choices. That is certainly not for me to do.   To paraphrase a verse from the bible, as for me I choose to do my best to live my life as He told me to and then let him be the judge of how I did.

