About Digital Privacy….

November 13, 2013

Digital Privacy

There is a lot of uproar lately about digital privacy. I am kind of on the fence about it. One the one hand I want our government to be able to track down those who would do harm to innocent people but on the other hand I don’t want the government to come after me because of some of the words on this blog or any other part of my life. I value my privacy and for the most part just want to be left alone.

Digital Privacy 2

6 responses to About Digital Privacy….

  1. 

    Do you shop on line? How about bank? Social media? Where do you store your pictures? Of course you blog—which opens you up. So, which part of private do you feel that private industry should have and government should not? It is a tough topic (as I sit in front of a computer with a post it note over the camera ).
    I think that government knowing is actually safer then being able to be hacked through private industry. Did you know that Facebook actually stores every single keystroke you make while you are logged in (even when not actively on their site)? Can anyone say 1984?

    Like

    • 

      Can anyone say 1937 when the government of Germany was taking names of those who spoke out against them or were jews. Being a retired IT engineer I understand, probably much more so than you do, how data is never really erased and how the Google algorithm has changed data mining. But I am more afraid of a rouge NSA project with a goliath military behind them taking away my basic liberty than I am about FaceBook saving what I say or Amazon storing what I buy….

      Like

  2. 

    I always think that if I am righteous and pure no one will come after me. Do you think that is true? I have worried a lot about Homeland Security and where they draw the line. I wonder sometimes.

    Like

    • 

      Hi Barb. But no one is righteous and pure according to the Bible 🙂 I read too many stories about what the FBI did during the Kennedy years to believe that fifty years later the NSA, CIA and such are leaving us “pure” folks alone. I’m sure that since I blog some anti-government stuff here I have a file with them. But then again I suspect almost all of us have files with them; some are just fatter than others. 🙂

      But I am not much for conspiracies so I don’t fret much that they will come after me. In other words I don’t stay up at night worrying wether my computer camera is spying on me or my dossier is about to be put on the terrorists list. And no I don’t even worry that Amazon has a list of what I buy. Maybe I should be called Alfred E. Neuman – What me worry??

      This was supposed to be one of my light hearted posts. What happened???

      Like

  3. 

    You are ok with the government knowing everything about your income, library habits, guns and health – especially with the ACA? You publish most of your thoughts on social media. What else is there?
    It seems our country has more problems with rogue IT people then NSA people. It seems those IT people are actually the real threat to our future. At least you can see military coming to your door- unless Obama expands the use of drones- those are iT as well, aren’t they?

    Like

    • 

      I am glad you have so much faith in our government but sad you trash IT guys like me. At least in private sector IT we can and do say “no” on occasion. I have been on Medicare for a few years now and it is much more prone to privacy piracy (like the term 🙂 ) than ACA but I have no fear of that.

      Like