11 Reasons Men Leave Their Marriages

September 12, 2014

1. When he got tired of her outbursts.

2. When the trust was gone.

3. When his wife became a glorified roommate.

4. When the math didn’t add up.

5. When he was suffering from depression and she laughed it off.

6. When he realized she didn’t believe in his dreams.

7. When he disagreed with her on how they’d raise their future children.

8. When he became indifferent to the cheating.

9. When he decided to put his daughter first.

10. When he realized that having hobbies of his own was off-limits.

11. When he had the commute from hell and she didn’t care.

SOURCE:  11 Reasons Men Leave Their Marriages.

All marriages have rocky points sometime during their duration. The ability to step back and rationally review the reasons behind those points is what saves some but may also condemn others. I personally believe included in the list above are some of the major reasons marriages end up on the ash heap. As the source indicates this list  is from men who have recently divorced their wives. It comes from a much wider compilation of reasons but is probably among the top ones.

I, for one, take my vows very seriously in both my marriage and other situations in my life.  I want my word to be my word.  I let my yes be yes. If I say I will be there at a certain time I make every effort to do just that. If I say until death do us part I mean it. Does that mean I am staying in a loveless marriage? Absolutely not!! On most planes my wife loves me very much and I love her. But there are certain things, some included on the list above, that make our marriage less than perfect.  But whose marriage is perfect anyway?

I am convinced that the premise of the book “Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus” is a valid one.  There are very distinct differences between the sexes such that women sometimes just don’t get it when a man is distressed about some issues. Of course the same goes for the other way around.

They say opposites attract and there is certainly some of that in my marriage. Sometimes I think we disagree on more than we agree. Without a successful means of conflict resolution marriages of opposites are very challenging.

My wife and I have had our “disagreements” about some items on the above list. It is hard for me to understand the reasons behind her seemingly not being able to understand some on these issues. I think it is a Mars/Venus thing. I recently got a fresh copy of Mars/Venus and will likely use it as a source for some future posts in this area.

 

