Don’t Wonder Why….

October 3, 2014

Don’t wonder why some people go crazy, wonder why all of us don’t.

Ok, that is my observation for today. Yeah, some people go over the edge when life overloads them but don’t we all get overloaded one time or another. I know I do. I see things that just don’t make any sense no matter how you look at them:

Violence – The amount of violence in our society simply astounds me! I know Americans are on the whole more aggressive than most other countries but we seem to be unique in expressing that aggression in violent ways. American football is an obsession for many and it is by far the most violent sanctioned sport on this plant. The most popular video games feature someone with a weapon killing the “bad” guys”

Guns – We have a love of guns and weapons of destruction far above almost everyone else in the world. I think we have more guns that people. The primary purpose for guns is to kill something or someone.

War – I don’t think I can even recall all the wars we have been involved with in my lifetime. It seems if we don’t have someone to go to war with we go out and generate some.  We spend more on our military than all the rest of the world combined. How insane is that!!

Narcissism – Narcissism is spending your life concentrating almost totally on yourself. Selfies are an indication of that condition. I try to be an ardent follower of Jesus Christ and when he tells me the two most important things in life are to love God and the love each other. Narcissism is the exact opposite of that.

Greed – The dark side of capitalism is greed. It is endemic to our way of doing business. The rich get richer and the poor get poorer and for many that is the way it is supposed to be.

Corruption – Corruption invades too much in our society. It seems that daily there is yet another politician, religious figurehead, or business man who is exposed for corruption.

Incompetence – There are just too many people who think they can make the big bucks with this or that scheme and sadly many do. They would rather cheat and scheme than put in an honest days work. Someone recently, I think it was Steve Jobs, say it that it takes 10,000 trys to become an expert at something. Too many are just not willing to put in the effort. And then there are the current crop of politicians. Too much incompetence among those folks.

Why do we have to face all these stupid things day after day? It’s enough to make anyone crazy. Don’t wonder why some people go crazy, wonder why all of us don’t….

3 responses to Don’t Wonder Why….

  1. 

    Well, it looks like you are taking a trip to the dark side today, R.J. 😉
    You have to know that most or all of those subjects listed above apply to virtually every other place in the world…not just America. There is nothing new under the sun. All of these things ripple through civilizations throughout history. That doesn’t mean we shouldn’t be aware and work to change the tide, but wallowing in the negative doesn’t help and doesn’t change what appears to be a part of the nature of man. For myself, I will continue to be ever so grateful that I live in the U.S. …. flaws and all. This is the way I don’t go crazy!

    Like

    • 

      Hi Jane. I don’t know if I would call it wallowing but maybe it is a tangential trip to the dark side. I might argue that the first two items are were we as a country are the dominate leaders (if you want to call it that) but you are right everything on the list is endemic on humanity as a whole. I too am grateful that I live in the U.S. It is about the only country in the world where you can complain, and of course I do complain, and get away with it.

      But I still wonder why…. 🙂

      Like

  2. 
    dermotinillinois October 4, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Glad to hear someone talk about narcissism. So much of our culture pushes us towards it. So tired of it….not to mention the casual violence and everything else you mentioned.

    Like