About The Invaders…

October 28, 2014

2014-03-02_16-18-10“Somebody would have found America though, even if he [Christopher Columbus] hadn’t, for you couldn’t hardly get around without running into it. Why they didn’t find it sooner is more than I will ever know. . . Being an Indian, I don’t mind telling you personally I am sorry he ever found it. The discovery has been of no material benefit to us, outside of losing all the land.” – Will Rogers, 1 August 1926

I have enough “Indian” in my heritage to understand where Will is coming from here. I wonder what this country would be like now if Columbus had not accidentally bumped into it so many years ago? But also as Will said here someone was bound to have found the new world if he hadn’t.

I know Europe’s history is full of conquests and overthrow but for the most part the people invaded usually, at least in the end, managed to keep hold of their land. Since native-Americans believed that the land could not be owned but only rented they were naive enough to think that they too could keep hold of it. Instead all of therm were rounded up and put on the least wanted patch of ground now called Oklahoma.

To the victor belongs the spoils as they say, for us native Americans that seems especially true…

